Patterns: Free or Paid?

I’ve been thinking about online Knit/Crochet patterns… even print patterns.

I’m a part of multiple Crochet Facebook groups, and I remember a post about selling items made from free patterns and it sort of grew into a huge discussion. A lot of the items I make, I freehand and have no pattern for it. For a while, I didn’t want to share how I created these items because I didn’t want someone else duplicating what I made… Then again, I realize that if you are really good at what you do, you don’t need a pattern to duplicate because you could just create something just by looking and guessing.

I’ve been thinking about dedicating this blog to patterns/tutorials/DIYs… and glimpses of my life.

My patterns that I release that are written solely by me (meaning not a pattern that I’m ripping off of someone and calling as my own, however, I do realize that a lot of patterns I will be releasing will be similar to many others out there) will be free. Items made from these patterns may be sold and I just ask that you give me credit for the written pattern!

However, I am curious to know. What do you feel about patterns? Do you think they should be free for all or do you think that you should be paid for the hard work put into writing the pattern?

-Steph

8 Comments

      • Well, I do have an issue with that – I would happily pay a bit extra for ‘commercial rights’.
        There is, in fact, a pattern that I bought and that I want to make up to sell, but the designer did not specify whether this was ok or not. I contacted her (via Ravelry) to ask if it was ok and never got an answer… and now I’m dithering about whether to go ahead or not. Part of me thinks it’s fine because she clearly was not interested, but part of me wants to be fair to the designer and her hard work.

  1. In the discussion I was reading about designers stating that you cannot sell the finished product, I read that stating that is untrue unless the item itself is copyrighted. From what was discussed, the only thing that has copyright is the pattern itself (which you cannot distribute/sell/or pass off as your own) and not the item created.

    But do you think that interferes with morals?

    If the designer hasn’t replied back, I would probably sell the finished product and just give credit where it is due (i.e. link back to the designer where the pattern can be purchased).

  2. I think this is the question for the ages! 🙂

    I have seen individual designers handle these situations differently. Some state you can sell the items without saying who designed the pattern. Others state you can sell the pattern, but must give credit to the person who designed it, some even request you add a link to the original pattern.

    Personally I don’t tend to purchase patterns online. I have come up with a bunch of my own (that I have yet to have the time to write down), and I also like to troll for free patterns. The ones I have posted online I ask that if the person sells it they link back to my blog, and give me credit for the pattern.

    It is also complicated because crochet has been around for so long, it is hard to come up with a perfectly original idea, and I think it is fun to sample things from many places and create something new.

    I know none of this answers your question but it is an interesting topic!

    – Megan

  3. Yes! I always eye pattern books and have thought about buying a few for some time, like a book with different granny squares! I’m itching to make a granny square blanket, and was originally going to try to do the crochet mood blanket for 2014, but have failed at even crocheting one square. Hehe. Life has just been a bit busy and this year many changes will be happening, so maybe next year will be a better year for a granny blanket!

Leave a comment